Erasmo Marotta

Mottetti concertati a due, tre, quattro e cinque voci (1635)

A cura di I. Calagna

2002, cm 24 x 34, xxviii-148 pp. con 7 tavv. f.t.

ISBN: 9788822251015

Add to «My wish list»
€ 49,00 € 46,55
  • About this book
  • Authors
  • E-book

The «Raccolta di mottetti del Marotta» contains 37 compositions on basso continuo. The ‘well-concerted harmony, both sweet yet devout’ is always dense and variegated, full of audacious dissonances and accidentals: having an highly imaginative capacity that effectively renders the meaning of the words. The sensuality of the «Cantico dei Cantici» and other biblical texts is developed to its utmost by the music that always succeeds in sublimating it.

    Buy the ebook from an our partner's store